Plagiarism: A Love Story

It’s been a while since I’ve posted here. After completing the dissertation, I wanted to take a break from blogging about my research. I needed some time to think about what I learned without the pressure to write things down. It’s been an interesting journey and a big adjustment.

I’m back in part because I’m returning to Emory to teach a class this spring. The course will be called “Plagiarism: A Love Story” and it is a themed section of English 101: Expository Writing. I’m excited to teach this class. While I’ve taught other courses related to my research and interdisciplinary methods, this course is the most closely tied to my own research questions of anything I’ve taught. I also think it does a nice job of creating a tightly constructed, user-friendly framework for understanding some of the intersections between plagiarism and affect that occur in my work and in scholarship more broadly.

The course will be relying heavily on a website created on the Emory Scholar Blogs platform. You can check out the course here. It’s still a work in progress, but you can already get a good idea of what the course is about and many of our core readings are linked on the “Resources” page. Additionally, the “Site Info” page provides details about the fact that the course is licensed under a Creative Commons license, allowing the materials to be freely shared, remixed, and adapted by other instructors…or anyone who can imagine an interesting way to put the course to use!

Here’s the full url:

http://scholarblogs.emory.edu/lovestory

Leave a Reply

